• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

When to use italics and when to use quotation in writing

Eastwatcher

Dreamer
Hi guys and girls

Just a quick question which I could really use some opinions on. I've seen several different styles of use of Italics and 'quotation marks' in books for different reasons, and I was wondering what other peoples' opinions are? I also know that there are different conventions and preferences between the UK and US writers regarding the use of ' ' quotation marks instead of " " speech marks which will then affect this. I'm a UK writer and use " " speech marks for dialog.
In my own work, I use italics for any internal speech (thoughts and whatnot) and inside of dialog when a character emphasises a word. I then use quotation marks both inside and outside dialog when referring specifically to repeating something someone else has said, such as drawing emphasis to someone's specific turn of phrase. However, I get confused when I need to draw attention to a specific word outside of dialog. It doesn't happen often, so I want to use italics, but I'm still worried it will get confused as literal inner thoughts from the current character. Sometimes I'll have a character's inner thought be a single word (usually cursing or being sarcastic), which is where I think readers might get confused. I think I get around this by the emphasised italic word being alone in part of a sentence, while the inner thought will have the entire sentence in italics, even if it's just a one word sentence.
Also, with regard to specifically quoting something some has said outside of dialog, am I right in keeping it as ' ' quotation marks instead of " " speech marks.
e.g. Arkos's father always said 'a sword drawn for the first time is often at its sharpest'.
OR
Arkos's father always said, "a sword drawn for the first time is often at its sharpest." (in this case it would require its own paragraph as it would count as a new character speaking.