• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about Art

Hi fellow writers,
I've started this thread as a research resource for anyone wanting to know about historical art. I'm a professional painter and art teacher, and have a very good knowledge of Art history, and the techniques of many historical arts and crafts.

I often teach the practical side of renaissance painting to my students, and can usually tell you exactly how paintings were executed by painters in any given time period.

So whether its information on historical pigments or materials, or practical information on the methods used in medieval times I can usually answer your questions.

This was originally posted in another thread, but I thought it would be useful to copy it here as its handy information about one particular historical method of drawing.

I do love Leonardo da Vinci. I was just doing some research on his works, but am really at the beginning. I want to recreate some of his anatomical sketches for a historical research project, and I was wondering, could you suggest a medium which would give a close approximation? I was going to use graphite pencil, as I've already got all sorts of those and I've done mostly pencil drawing, but I don't actually know what silverpoint is. Can you shed some light? Having someone to ask the details of is probably just what I need to tip the scale for me and really get me excited about it.

Lol I havn't done silverpoint for 20+ years!

Silverpoint is basically drawing with a silver wire, silver when used for drawing leaves a very precise, light grey mark, which over a period of months oxidises to a warm brown colour.

The parchment was usually prepared first with a mixture of rabbit glue, pigmented with bone ash, which would be just abrasive enough to enable the silver to leave behind a better mark (if the paper isn't prepared properly the lines can be too light)