• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about emergency medicine, EMT basic, some Paramedic and ALS

ascanius

Inkling
Ok I am studying to be and EMT basic, and hopefully will be fully licensed, state and national, by June, knock on wood. So I thought I would contribute what I am learning. Please keep in mind though that this encompasses only prehospital medicine, and not hospital medicine such as surgery, or advanced diagnostics. Also your going to have to think of the technology differences. I can explain the steps I would take for a certain emergency, how I would do them, why, and what, if any treatments are possible along with the chemistry, pathophysiology, and biology behind them. Almost forgot medical emergencies, COPD, AMI, and others. I may be able to help with technological concerns, and give ideas if this becomes a problem.

I WILL NOT TALK ABOUT PATIENTS so don't ask. ALSO don't think that because you read something online that you know what to do in an emergency, or how to diagnose, ALWAYS CALL 911. I trust that everyone reading this to be mature but I do not want to be responsible for someone dieing because of this post. I cannot stress this enough. I just want to make this clear ok. Please use this information for your stories only. You may think I'm paranoid but I feel this is a just paranoia especially in this day and age.

SeverinR

Vala
Basic Emt would be a Dr in alot of Middle ages settings, except they would also have herbals and tonics. There was no qualifier to who could be a "healer" or Dr.

Also an EMT can provide some description of trauma. (There are EMT sites that will show graphic trauma, I don't recommend it unless you are prepared.) And secondary effects of that trauma.