• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about Human Behavior...

Mtsky112

Acolyte
I hold a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Social Work . I also have a background in International Studies with emphasis on Anthropology. I love watching people, learning from them and studying the systems in which people/society function. Now I am far from a wealth of knowledge but I still may have some good information as to why people/characters think, feel and act the way they do. If nothing else, I enjoy being a soundboard and helping people brainstorm. I think making people think, see different sides to issues and I have found that this can be helpful during Character development.

Mtsky, thank you for offering help. This is something I'd love to find out more about.

I did have a couple of things I'm wondering about in my own work. Chiefly, what requires someone to abandon their sibling?

Via flashbacks, one of my main characters is shown to have drifted around a country with his sister. Then when she gets kidnapped by a shady brothel and the brother can't find anyone to help him get her out, he naturally does a lot to try taking her back. But at one point...he just gives up. It's a decision that has tortured him since then.

The problem is I haven't been able to justify that crucial decision, beyond him being tired of defeat when he tries getting her out of the brothel, and his saying "Well, winter was coming and I had to go find shelter and start taking care of myself." The latter especially feels artificial and not at all convincing. Did you have any ideas how to remedy this and make his rationale a little more convincing? The best I can come up with is the fact that he's generally only a hero when he doesn't have time to think about it. Lots of time on his hands means he can talk himself out of doing something brave, and I'm wondering if that might help give an explanation for why he'd abandon his own sister.

Jaredonian

Dreamer