• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Battle Scenes

Codey Amprim

Staff
Article Team
How in depth do you go with a major battle? How many words do you think is appropriate (or inappropriate?)? How much action versus the commander's point of view and what he or she is having to deal with? Is switching back and forth between the sides acceptable to portray how either side is feeling?

Your thoughts?

I have a few battle scenes but I am not good at them, but I know how I like to read them.

I want to see how the battle effects the characters I care about. I want to see their fear, elation, worry, the personal affects of battle. The manoeuvers, retreats, advances, those should all be told from what our beloved people suffer through.

Digital_Fey

Troubadour
Agreed. The best way to make a battle scene really meaningful is to worry less about where the soldiers are sticking their weapons and write more about the emotions - how does it feel to be in the midst of so much violence/rage/desperation? What are the sounds, thoughts, feelings that assail the characters?

I think it's definitely acceptable to switch POVs between sides, provided one doesn't go overboard. For instance, in Hemingway's For Whom the Bell Tolls, he describes only one scene from the opposition's point of view - and that's sufficient to make the reader empathize, without destroying their loyalty to the main character's cause. The length of the scene depends mostly on the importance of the battle - I get annoyed when authors feel the need to describe every single skirmish in detail, leaving the reader totally desensitized by the time it gets to The Final Battle At the World's End.

I think that if a habit is made of showing the opposing side on occasion before we see them in a skirmish, maybe follow a character on the opposing side through a couple adventures to build sympathy.

TWErvin2

Auror