• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

character types

as a kid i remember there were typical types characters associated with fantasy stories. thief, wizard/sorcerer
, ranger etc. wandering anyone can list them and any link to to basic info about each character type in order for me create my own version even if break the conventional rule of typical of what used to be expected

I am a character writer, sometimes I use archetypes but I don't do stats or character sheets. The most important thing in fantasy is for your characters to be real, to be what they are. You pretty much have the archetypes but a simple Google for fantasy archetypes should provide what you are after. Others may be more useful but I never start with archetypes, they aren't useful to my writing style so I don't consciously use them.

well i have an idea for 4 pov story with different archetypes but with larger set main characters but having four arch types being narrative characters as well being part of main characters all i need to figure out an enemy bad enough to be able tell a story. this the same story with 12 main characters of a mercenary army corp i know that at least 3 archetypes will be kicked oiut of the keep based fight with each other the wizard/sorcerer is all ready part of the mercs and thanks for info so far

Last edited:
writeshiek33 said:
well i have an idea for 4 pov story with different archetypes but with larger set main characters but having four arch types being narrative characters as well being part of main characters all i need to figure out an enemy bad enough to be able tell a story. this the same story with 12 main characters of a mercenary army corp i know that at least 3 archetypes will be kicked oiut of the keep based fight with each other the wizard/sorcerer is all ready part of the mercs and thanks for info so far

Sounds like you have a lot of work to do, not knowing your baddie and all...