• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Dialogue Question: Am I Doing it Right?

Xaysai

Inkling
I've never written dialogue before, so I read a great blog here about it, but I'm still confused.

I've heard that dialogue tags are frowned upon, so I've attempted to not use them. However, I'm still not confident that I am writing it properly.

Please feel free to give me feedback on my dialogue, writing, pace or anything else from this scene. Thanks as always to the Mythic Scribes : )

This is part of my second chapter:

Alright, never mind. It’s just a dream. There’s no way he read my mind. Or knew my name. He stood from his work station and moved towards me. “And no, you are not dreaming. How are you feeling?”

I wiggled my arms and legs to find that I was strapped to the table by my wrists and ankles. How very terrific. “I’m feeling like I’m having a very bad day,” I lifted my head and looked down at the straps cutting into my wrists to illustrate my point, “and that it’s about to get worse.”

He grabbed the end of the leather strap on my left arm, then my right, and pulled them even tighter. The act was clearly less about making sure they were tight, and more about letting me know he was in charge. “Well, I’ve got good news for you. How your day ends will be completely up to you.”

In attempt to defy his leather strap tightening power trip I tried to use a little of my power to heal the chaffed and bleeding skin around my wrists, but no power came. I let my head fall back against the table, resigned. “I thought you might say something like that.”

“You were in very bad shape when I found you." He peeled up some of the adhesive holding the large bandage onto my stomach and peered underneath it. "Curiously, your body maintains a limited ability to heal itself while you are unconscious. Without it, I might not have been able to get your stomach pieced back together”.