• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hellos Peoples

JRFLynn

Sage
Well, I have to admit this is my first time on any kind of writing forum. I've always been very shy about sharing my work or asking for advice since I don't have much experience. I've been working on my debut book off and on over the past few years but now I'm really motivated to finish something for once! >:D I think I'll feel a lot more confident once I have at least one book under my belt, but it's been a long and arduous process. I had to scrap my last draft because it didn't sit right with me, I can't really explain why, but I had written up to 400 pages. Crazy, right? Even now my perfectionist side is giving me hell and I'm only on chapter 5, but hopefully some fresh insight will encourage me to persevere over this constant self-doubt.

Anyway, my hobbies are writing, painting, dabbling with the violin (if the neighbors aren't home), and I'm currently a student majoring in medical coding. Honestly, being an author has been my childhood dream but I'm afraid to commit. I've never thought of writing as a feasible career, more of a therapeutic outlet. If it weren't for my husband I probably would've shrugged my shoulders and given up on my hope a long time ago, so here I am bashing away at the keyboard lol.

That's my story /rambleoff :)

Sioranth

Dreamer
Hello! I totally bite but I hardly ever bite strangers. :) I'm a medical transcriptionist and I've thought about going into coding myself at some point, but I really enjoy working in my pajamas at home. lol

SeverinR

Vala
Only crazy people think writing is a "feasable career". Welcome to the insane asylum.
It is no career, it has to be a passion or obcession to write anything, the chances of making a living at it is very low.
But we all case the dream.

I maintain:
Write for fame and profit, you will fail many, many times.