• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Jobs in Writing?

This is technically a writing question, so I hope that I'm in the right place for this.

The question is very silly, you would think it answers itself; Jobs in writing? "hmm....maybe...." *frowns a bit* "Become a writer?"

I have my AS exams coming up in the next week, and I am thoroughly convinced that I'm going to fail...and unfortunately I don't think that this is all nerves, it had quite a bit of truth in there.

And so, if the worst comes to the worst, and I'm out of education as of September, does anyone know of any jobs that involve writing creatively or doing something along these lines. Obviously I would love to make it as a writer, but we all know that isn't going to happen.

If anybody has any ideas on jobs like this, then please let me know.

Scribble

Archmage
I work in the video games industry, and we are always needing people to write content. Sometimes we hire writers, sometime it is our level designers, game designers, and creative leads who do these bits.

I had a chance to submit a sample in consideration for a junior writing position on of our big projects, but I haven't heard back. I wasn't ready, I didn't have a portfolio that was appropriate to what they wanted. I don't expect to hear back, but I learned a few things, and it pushed me to seriously work harder at this writing thing.

Media production, marketing, advertising, all these avenues can provide opportunities to do some actual writing, piecework. The key is not talent (though you need some), but networking, timing, and being prepared. You've got to be persistent and ready for opportunity when it comes, and you've got to do the work to make that opportunity happen.