• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Spin off short stories?

MamaMorrigan

Acolyte
Genre and themes you like to work with?
Sure. I write almost entirely fantasy for my personal projects. My background is in creative writing but also politics. I tend to write a lot about generational trauma, social issues, political issues, political history. Lots of queer stuff, being queer myself. I also love mythology, classical history, that sort of thing, so I tend to include a lot of themes around all of the above.

That said, my biggest love is just writing a fun story with human characters struggling with dark themes. So all those themes find their way in because those are the kinds of things that inspire me, and I do heavily include them, they aren't everything.

A. E. Lowan

Forum Mom
Leadership
Our team uses short pieces to fill in the corners where the numbered novels can't. As you can see from our Reading Order, we have one or two. Many of our characters are immortal, and many are not. Either way, we've used the short pieces to add a wee bit of seasoning where it may not be appropriate in the numbered novels.

We've been at this for roughly ten years, now, and as time has gone by we've found ourselves with more than one blog. Be ready in case that happens to you. Once they gain traction, these little suckers won't die. We've gotten around it by sticking with a theme so it's easier to spot one of our blogs at a glance.

Blog the First: This Blog is Terribad
Blog the Second: A. E. Lowan
Blog the Third: This Blog is Terribad - A. E. Lowan