• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Where do you prefer to write?

Estralyia

Dreamer
I don't have a laptop either! I work full-time as a translator/proofreader at home (heavenly!) and I need the stability of my "office" (a converted third bedroom at the back of the house, where I can look out down the valley and the mountains in the distance) to work. I have to get up at 7 am each day to take my black Labrador Chloé for a one hour walk and I go through several fields and up to the woods. Anything can be seen on the way, cattle/sheep going to the fields either on their own or with the sheep dogs, the odd wild boar, rabbit, people jogging, etc. and this is where I get my inspiration to write. I have another walk with Chloé at about 6 pm to a different wood. Then I make notes when I get home, and try and type this all in between jobs. I'm a juggler!

Last edited:

Lawfire

Sage
I prefer to write in a crowded coffee shop, where the plebes can bask in my presence. I find the constant, "are you a writer?" inquiries to be charming. My smug replies are good for my confidence, and lead to a better finished product.

No...I prefer to write a home, usually late at night when it is quiet.

Wynnara

Minstrel
If I'm writing at home it's usually sitting in the living room at the coffee table.

I try to set aside one large writing block each week and for this I head to the library downtown... because really, who wouldn't want to write in a space that looks like this. :)

vancouver%20library.jpg

Estralyia

Dreamer
That is your library downtown! How wonderful. Surely with this inspiration, you must have already written a best seller? I must tell my brother Ken; he lives just outside of Vancouver and he adores libraries. Lucky you!

Svrtnsse

Staff
Article Team