• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Ask me about...

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Thought I'd join in with the "ask me about" threads. I suppose there are two main areas where I might have information of use.

The first probably isn't as important to your story as to the business of writing. I'm a patent, trademark, and copyright attorney by day, so you can ask me questions about those areas of law. I've also taught Constitutional Law (U.S.), and so I have some grounding there.

Prior to law school, I was a research scientist (I have a B.S in Microbiology, Chemistry minor, and I bailed out of a Ph.D. program in Biochemistry after finishing the first two years - completed the course work, did not do thesis). So I have some knowledge in those areas, and some of my patent work is in biotech/pharma so that keeps me in the loop.

Ravana

Istar
Actually, I'm quite sure I could come up with abundant questions for you… though I suspect the thread would get a bit abstruse fairly rapidly (or the back-and-forth too lengthy). If I come up with any narrow ( :rolleyes: ) questions on Constitutional law, I'll post them.

You might want to start an "Ask-Me" thread in the Publishing forum on copyright law–seeing as that's a topic near and dear to a great many of our hearts, whereas I suspect few would think to look for it here. (Or maybe that's a reason for you not to want to start one there.…) Let me know if you do, and I'll stick the thread… assuming no one else beats me to it. Research questions on copyrights and related law could still be asked here, at any rate–the difference, I guess, being whether the querent wants the answer for something he's writing, or something he's written. Well, that, plus around $400 an hour.

-

Hmm… the only biochem question I can think of that I've had lately is "How does the DNA know what to do…?" :D

Last edited by a moderator:

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Ravana: