• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Favorite excerpts from your novels.

"Up to trouble? Me? Nonsense darling, I've been a well behaved Kitsune for the past 2 thousand years! They might even let me out of parole for good behavior."

"You mean besides the oceans of booze you've been consuming, regularly, without restraint?"

"How the hell else am I supposed to cope with the solitude..."

"I....damn, I....don't have a counter for that..."

"Understanding, spite, and acceptance...that's why you're my favorite student."

"You sure it's not just cause I'm the only one still sane?"

"Maybe....maybe not..."

Last edited:

Malik

Auror
These are only a start, I might take some writing classes to learn other styles of writing.
I strongly recommend this, for every writer.

My degree is in English, with a linguistics minor, and effectively a dual concentration in sociolinguistics and the philosophy of language; I wasn't a creative writing major. I went to a school that has turned out a sh*tload of notable authors, though. My mother was a bestselling author, although she ghost-wrote for another author. I was born to the trade, won writing competitions in high school, wrote my first novel at 16.

Despite all this, I had ten novels rejected in the 15 years after receiving my degree. I had easily a million words of fiction, maybe two million counting throwaway drafts, under my belt before I self-published my first novel. But it has done very well, and continues to sell well. I'm now agented out of New York and have multiple publishers holding my new manuscript. It takes time to get good, is what I'm getting at, here.