• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Just another passanger on the bus

Woodroam

Dreamer
Just another passenger on the bus

I'm a beginning writer working on my second unpublished novel. According to Louise Snyfield, psychic-numerologist who put the 'B' in Cecil B. DeMille’s name when he was flat broke, this is my thirtieth life on Earth. My family says I’m an old soul. I say crap. We’re all just beginners here. This world is too screwed up to be anything more than kindergarten for souls or detention for all the beings who screwed up on their home worlds.

Fantasy writing is perfect for me as I live in a perpetual fantasy and have few boundaries. Another psychic in Jackson Square, New Orleans, told me I was empathic. I’m sure she was wrong. If she was right I’d be feeling sick most of the time because this world is sick. I guess that’s why I’m making up a world of my own, one where love, peace, and happiness wins over greed, racism, darkness, and hate; where every wrong is corrected and where everyone can live happily ever after. Then again, maybe Madam Cajun was right. I spend most of my time in the wilderness far from people, reading, writing, and thinking. Things seem so much cleaner where wild things grow.

You can probably tell that I don’t have a formal education in writing. When I started my first novel, for my true love, I typed it out with one finger on an antique Smith-Corona typewriter. I misspelled every third word, typed in uppercase because I didn’t know when to capitalize, wasn’t sure where to put commas and periods, much less quotation marks, and was too embarrassed to ask anyone to read my work. Still, I kept on. I wrote several complete drafts and kept reading novels until I figured it out. When I finally gained confidence enough to go to college composition classes I aced every class taken. My work-study turned out to be student teaching non-English majors how to write term papers.