• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Old man - New hobby

Shobber

Hi Folks, I'm really excited about finding this fantastic website. I started writing as a hobby about a year ago, but have struggled with a lot of aspects of it. I've bought and (part) read a number of books on writing fantasy fiction, listened to pod casts, watched the Brandon Sanderson and Michael Hauge lectures, but still haven't been to put anything coherent together. My day job is in the complex field of wireless communications, but writing a good story is a different scale of complexity. Scanning these pages and reading what others have posted, discussed, and advised gives me hope that one day I might get there. For that I thank you, and hope in the future to be in a position to return the favour.

pmmg

Myth Weaver
Howdy Shobber, Welcome here.

I am wading into the publishing now. Seems like a long journey, but...going in anyway.

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
Welcome, Shobber.

Struggle isn't just part of the job, it's pretty much the whole job. Do you have a story to tell, or are you still mired in the Morass of Ideas?

Shobber, welcome to the Scribes.

If, as a welcome gift, I were to give you one piece of unsolicited advice, it would be: Enjoy the process where you are right now.

Or, as the sign over my writing nook says, "Dig now, sculpt later."

Worry not so much about the overwhelming idea of writing a coherent and well-crafted story (but by all means read up on such pursuits as you go), but follow the joy of discovering what makes a story, your story, interesting to you. A character, a place, a conflict, a power, a motivation etc, and let it all flow from there. Follow it from end to beginning or beginning to end. From the middle out, or in vignettes across a span of time — it doesn't matter. As long as you are engaged and putting words on paper/screen, that's progress. :)