• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Salutations!

Hello all!

I am a huge fantasy nerd, have been since I first picked up the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe when I was a child. Lord of the Rings was next and then Mists of Avalon and then Terry Brooks' Shannara series and well, you get the idea. I am also a field biologist, meaning I work out in the field gathering data about megafauna. It sounds glamorous, but in reality it is quite boring. There are only so many butterflies you can count before your mind starts wandering. During a stint working with endangered birds on a volcano in Hawaii, I began writing my first novel. I had always been an avid reader, so writing came easily to me. I discovered my passion, a little older than most, and have been writing ever since.

Excited to share my love of fantasy with the scribes!

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Welcome to the site, Mary. I hope you enjoy it hear and will also share some of your field biologist stories :)

srcroft

Minstrel
Welcome. Curious what you consider "older" to be? You'll have fun here, lots of great conversations.

I'm 60 and its great to find a place to talk about a lifetime hobby, you're never too old to do a Monty Python and "now for something completely different" this is a great place to talk to those with the same problems.

Wow, so many responses! Thank you all for the warm welcome.

I meant "older" not in the sense that I am older, but in the sense I was never one of those people who knew they wanted to be a writer since they were five years old. When I was five years old I was convinced I was going to be first woman president... so glad I missed that boat!