• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Typing Speed

Chilari

Staff
I'm much slower: 50 words per minute. But I times myself once, for 1 minute, typing whatever I felt like - just a load of rubbish going on about how I was typing to test my speed - and I got 75 words in that minute. I guess it depends, though.

Xanados

Maester
Yeah. My average is 94 WPM. 75-80 is the average typing speed of my friends, which is odd because they have been typing for as long as me. I'm actually applying for typist jobs. My C.V (Resume) is tailored to that sort of thing. ;)

Last edited:

pskelding

Troubadour
116 wpm -- I was a computer programmer about 10 years ago and hardcore IRC'er so I've had plenty of practice. I think I'm slower now than before when I really had to grind out code for scripting languages.

Xanados

Maester
116 wpm -- I was a computer programmer about 10 years ago and hardcore IRC'er so I've had plenty of practice. I think I'm slower now than before when I really had to grind out code for scripting languages.
What is your average speed?

Xanados

Maester
I'm going to make a leaderboard.

1: Pskelding -116
2: Starconstant -110
3: Xanados - 104
4: Chilari-50
5-Rheadin -40

Last edited:

Kelise

Maester
110 wpm has been my average over these past few years. I'm better when typing from my head and not looking at random gibberish words in a line. Especially when word-warring with a friend and using Write or Die.

Xanados

Maester
110 wpm has been my average over these past few years. I'm better when typing from my head and not looking at random gibberish words in a line. Especially when word-warring with a friend and using Write or Die.
Is 110 your officially tested speed? If not, it doesn't count! =P

Kelise

Maester
Yes, it is. 110 wpm is my tested - random gibberish words.

I'm better than that when I get to write what I like.

Xanados

Maester