• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Introduction

darthgoober

Hey Guys, I just joined this forum along with another one similar to this called writing forum. I am a sophomore in college and am totally new to this writing thing. I have always loved reading fantasy writings mostly being C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkein. Over the past month I just really felt inspired to start writing. I have been looking up a TON of information on the internet on writing and fantasy writing. One thing I am currently doing is creating a world and my characters. If anybody has any tips for a new writer at all I would GREATLY appreciate them!!! Oh and one more thing...... obviously I have drawn a lot of inspiration from the two authors I just mentioned but as I am planning my story it's really hard not to compare my ideas with theirs. I sometimes feel like my ideas are just stupid compared to theirs and I also struggle with trying to be original.... to many scenes from their books flood my mind. Any tips on working past that?

Welcome to the Scribes my friend. I'm glad you've got that inspiration, the best advice I can give you for the long run is never give up, just keep at it. It will test you, but never let it beat you, because if you persevere it will reward you;). Joining this forum was probably one of the best things I could have done in terms of developing my writing, this is where we can actually talk about what makes a good sorcerer, or about bards, anything really.

Feel free to plunge right in, the Scribes is a rewarding experience, give it some of your time and contributions and you will find literally thousands of tips. If you have any questions, or just want to chat, feel free to throw me a message:Biggrin:.