• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Hail, all! Is this the right place for me?

Thomas_W

Hi all, I'm a novice/amateur writer; I've never successfully written anything that was published, though I would like to change that :) I'm trying to write an epic fantasy novel or series. I've never taken any creative writing courses, so I'm looking for people who could give me feedback and constructive criticism on my wordplay and prose, exposition, etc. Of course I'd be more than willing to read other people's work and share my own two cents if anyone is interested in sharing.

Thanks y'all.

Steerpike

Felis amatus
Hi Thomas_W, this certainly sounds like the right place for you. It's a friendly bunch, across a wide range of skill levels and experience. Dive right in!

skip.knox

toujours gai, archie
I'm coming to believe this is the right place for just about anyone writing fantasy. There's a wide range of folks here, with varying perspectives and experience. Come on in, and welcome!

Caged Maiden

Staff
Article Team
The forum here is a wonderful place to begin your adventure. Share your work in the showcase and let us know what kind of feedback you want, or post some questions in the appropriate sections. Whether you need help with research, writing questions, or just want to chit chat about what makes for a great story, the folks here spend a lot of time and thought on helping people.

We have a handy search to get you started. Sometimes looking up an old thread can save time, because we've had some deep conversations about all the basics (show/tell, POV, wordiness, opening lines, how to impress the pants off an agent, how to write a query) Pretty much everything. If you are just looking for friends/ motivation, jump on into public chat or our challenges section, where we all go to play.