• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

The dreaded "Magic System".

Gospodin

Troubadour
If you still clicked the thread after reading the title, I thank you in advance for taking the time to help me with what I am sure is an insufferably perennial question. I'm a noob to magic and all that... :eek:

Ok, it goes like this:

Urban Fantasy
Berlin, Germany
Just at and right after the fall of the Berlin Wall.

My story revolves around two MC's who were stationed at Tempelhof AFB in those days. There are otherworldly beings living in Berlin (and everywhere) who are the source for most of human myth and legend. They live, they are real, and like all myth and legend, they are somewhat smaller than the tales and stories that come to enshroud them over millennia. My two MC's are drawn into this "other world" that happens and is lived in plain sight. I believe the technical term for this dynamic of story-telling is a "masquerade".

The magic I'm feeling for this story is what I think of as jeans and tee shirt magic. It's not "big". It's not Hogwarts-ie. Most of it can happen in plain site of normals without raising a mortal eyebrow.

But, when needed, some "big" magic can happen.

The constraints... Here's where it goes fuzzy for me.

I don't want to use aging or advancing decrepitude as a restraint. No. I don't like that at all. One thing I am using is that each of the beings we meet is a particular kind of being, and each particular kind only has {finite set} of abilities. There's no school or class or potion you can take to get more "aps", so to speak. What you can do is what you can do and that's that.

My worry is that this makes them feel a bit X-Men-esque, and I don't want to write a comic book superhero story. I want a natural feel, and a sense of these beings having been here since the dawn of writing.

Do I have a question? I'm not sure... Come ponder with me, yes? :eek:

Last edited:

Fluffypoodel

Inkling