• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Magic: The Gathering

saellys

Inkling
I did a quick scan of the forum and didn't see a thread for MTG, so here it is. :) My husband and I started playing last month and we've dropped about a hundred bucks on cards thus far--right before they release the 2014 core and the next set of guilds, of course. I'm just glad my husband has a hobby now.

I've been almost exclusively playing a white-heavy Selesnya deck, but I carved it down to white only with a token-generating mechanic. I actually had to make a Kinko's run to copy enough token cards to get through a game. My husband just started a tri-color deck that can actually hold its own when I get rolling and have a dozen tokens on the battlefield.

Anyone else play?

Sparkie

Auror
I tried. I failed. ;)

Seriously though, my first time playing (besides the downloadable version on Xbox) was a super wake-up call for me. I found out just how dumb I was that day. I like the game, I just don't have the head for it.

saellys

Inkling
I felt the same way the first time I tried, and it didn't help that my bestie was teaching me using a crappy deck for me and a super awesome life-draining one for herself. ;) The second time around it clicked a little more, but I'm honestly still learning, and every card changes the rules.

BWFoster78

Myth Weaver
I'm a happy to be ex player.

I enjoyed limited a lot, especially booster drafts, and got pretty decent at it during Onslaught block. It sucked up a lot of time and resources to get to a point where I had any skill, however. When the rules changed for Mirrodin and I faced that uphill learning curve again, I called it quits.

I still get the urge sometimes, but, thankfully, I've been able to resist so far. My wife still gives me an evil eye when I glance at cards in the store; she's happy I've found cheaper hobbies.

myrddin173

Maester