• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Sound effects in audiobooks

I'm an old drama kid and I am recording some of my short stories for fun.
I am an illustrator as my day-job so I listen to a lot of audiobooks while I work.
I like a straight narrator, but I have also enjoyed the full on audio productions of things like Vox in the Void.

I'm a ham, so I read dramatically and make voices because I can't help myself.
When it comes to music and sound effects and so on, I don't know what to do.
What does everyone here prefer?

Thanks y'all!

CupofJoe

Myth Weaver
I prefer straight readings or full audio adaptations, but rarely anything in the middle.
The exception is a bundle of Star Trek audio books that have computer chirps and door swishing effects. They feel so right.
I'm listening to The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy with no sound effects and it works wonderfully.
And the BBC's adaptation of Lord of the Rings is a hard to fault [except they left out Tom Bombadil and the Barrow Downs]

I used to love listening to cassette tapes as a child, particularly the ones that were a full production with various different actors and sound effects. But I also used to the love the reading of Treasure Island, where it was just one actor reading in a dramatic tone. I can’t say I’m interested in listening to audiobooks these days. Not sure why, I prefer the silence of reading a book over listening to an ear worm.

Obviously with just one man, this can’t really be done. I’d say, it’d get tedious listening to one man try and do lots of different voices unless you were particularly talented at doing this, like Stephen Fry or something.

bproorda

Acolyte
I love when I can find a full cast audio of wonderful story, instead of one guy/girl trying to sound like other people. I could definitely think of some cases where sound effects would have been a boon

Ban

Troglodytic Trouvère
Article Team