• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Help! My Magic System is a mess and I need to allocate my sub elements :)

Mari More

Minstrel
Hi, I'm a new member of this community but I've been going in and out of this page for months now. Anyways, I'm a wannabe writer who writes about fantasy world stories. This time, I'm writing about a world revolving around magic and has no correlation or connection to 'Earth'. My world has no official name (like Earth) but it is focused in a country in Doroveya continent. Just to inform you, the world only has one religion and one source of magic. From Kismet (it is derived from Filipino word kisapmata) who ordered five deities to go down to the lower realm and create the world where Doroveya is located. Then the five deities Dragona (fire), Limunsudan (water), Adarna (air), Lupine (earth), Ningning (light and shadow. basically deity of existence) who roamed the world and created everything from scratch. Now, the five deities each left an eternal flame before going back to the upper realm/immortal realm. These flames are the source of the people's magic. Everything is kinda established but the thing is I don't know where to put some "sub elements (not what I call it but it's the English term)" of these "magics." Can someone help me pin point the sub elements that shouldn't be part of main elements? And if you could also suggest some sub elements to me, I would greatly appreciate it

Fire (Dragona): fire, control human desire (lust), seduce a person (derived from the term 'you're hot')
Air (Adarna): air, lightning (air to air friction), enhanced stealth/agility, amplify (or mute) sounds, teleportation (it has to do with how fast one go from one place to another in just a blink of an eye), levitation, projection of image,
asphyxiation, spiritual projection, detection of spiritual beings
Water (Limunsudan): water, heal, prediction, create/projection of image, freeze