• Welcome to the Fantasy Writing Forums. Register Now to join us!

Narrative Structure?

I'm studying narrative structure for my writing class and in this book it says a novel is constructed of an opening scenes, no point of return, then for crises that build up to the climax.

I'm not really sure what a crises would be. Is it anything that creates a goal for your character like If the goal is to find a vaccine, an epidemic would be the crises. Crises build up is anything that increases the urgency of reaching that goal; perhaps the epidemic has spread passed the quarantine zone.

Can the crises be internal not just external? Does it have to be a crises for the mc or can it be for any character?

New to writing for help much appreciated

Thank you

T.Allen.Smith

Staff
I'm not really sure what a crises would be. Is it anything that creates a goal for your character like If the goal is to find a vaccine, an epidemic would be the crises.

Yes that could be a crisis.

Crises build up is anything that increases the urgency of reaching that goal; perhaps the epidemic has spread passed the quarantine zone.

I'd say it's the building tension of the crisis, or the ticking clock, if you will. Let's say your starting crisis is this epidemic. Your scientist is looking for a cure. Too much time goes by with no success. The virus breaks quarantine. The scientist learns their spouse and infant child never made it to the refuge & the disease is encroaching on their location...uptick in the ticking clock.

Can the crises be internal not just external?
Absolutely! Like a crisis of faith for instance.

Does it have to be a crises for the mc or can it be for any character?
Well, that depends. Generally though, I'd say the MC should have a close connection to the crisis. If they don't, should that be your MC?

I want my MCs to have a close, emotional connection & response to the happenings around them. Conflict, tension, & emotion are great tools.

Chilari

Staff